A New Start

Tonight I start my new job. I hope it goes better than when I started my last job. Let me tell you about it.

When I started my last job, my employer almost immediately took me from the role I was hired for and put me in a manager training program. This irked some employees (understandably enough) and they scrutinized everything I did.

Eventually, things smoothed over and I earned their friendships, but never had I felt so under a microscope.

Another employee said that from the first moment he saw me he knew he wouldn't like me. He didn't like my face, I guess. I thanked him for his candidness and we never spoke since.

Despite the rocky start, most of my co-workers there were great, and I made the best of a situation I didn't really want to be in. Yesterday I left on favourable conditions.

Today I start my new job, and hope no one hates me simply because of my (very ordinary) looks. I'm probably a touch paranoid.

As for my quest to becoming a composer, I've been practicing those left right hand exercises I mentioned yesterday. The trick, as Joff shows, is to break the task into smaller parts and go slowly at first. It's the fastest way to learn almost anything. Slow is smooth, smooth is fast as the Navy SEALs like to say.

I also ran through the C Minor Blues Scale and the intro to So What. My fingers fumbled a lot today, and for some reason thought of when my daughter took piano lessons. I was a young father back then, preoccupied with other things, and wasn't supportive like I should have been.

Learning from mistakes. Becoming better. That's a big part of life and what Poseur to Composer is about.

Have a safe Halloween.

Meditation Time bookstanding today: 40 minutes Quality of meditation (out of 10): 6

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 20 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 6


Consider subscribing to my newsletter or follow this blog by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader.