Another Shiny Object

My interest in project Dhymn is waning. I probably should have kept the idea quiet. Blabbing about it expended valuable energy I could have channelled into making it real.

It can still happen though. I intend to produce a proof of concept, at the very least, but another shiny object caught my eye. It's Opera, weirdly enough. Here's a few passages in How to Listen to Music by Henry Edward Krehbiel that piqued my interest in this genre of music and theatre:

The people of to-day are as blithely indifferent to the fact that their operas are all presented in a foreign tongue as they were two centuries ago in England... The devotees of the Latin exotic, whether it blend French or Italian (or both, as is the rule in New York and London) with its melodic perfume, enjoy the music and ignore the words... For the present, the charm of music is still supreme, and we can sit out an opera without giving a thought to the words uttered by the singers.

and also:

When seeing the Italian performers "chattering in the vehemence of action," that they were calling the audience names and abusing them among themselves. I do not know how to measure the morals and manners of our Italian singers against those of Addison's time, but I do know that many of the things which they say before our very faces for their own diversion are not complementary to our intelligence.

I guess those passages triggered my imagination because a) I'm fascinated with languages and even attempted to construct a new one called 7erb and b) Opera and its enthusiasts are a compellingly strange bunch!

Anyway, I have an exciting idea to ruminate on. And I'll try not to blab about it too soon.

Meditation Time bookstanding today: 30 Quality of meditation (out of 10): 4

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 15 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 4


Want updates on this and other projects I'm working on? Kindly subscribe to my newsletter or follow this blog by RSS in your favorite RSS feed reader.