Better Practice

Today's revised practice regiment was constructive. First I practiced the Cm Pentatonic Blues Scale (vanilla version), right hand ascending. I'm comfortably at 80 bmp.

After approximately 10 minutes I moved on to So What (the bass part by Paul Chambers) at 40 bmp, with beats 2 and 4 on 4/4 time. This setting gives my playing a swing feel and has brought my practice to life! Where the road gets bumpy though is when the bass line goes from D minor to E flat minor. That raised part of the melody hasn't been ingrained into my muscle memory enough. I'll work on that tomorrow.

Last was improvisation. For now, I'm focused on left hand comping using the 2-5-1 chord progression on the C major scale. Keeping it nice and easy, using this video by Kent Hewitt as a guide. I find the finger transition from the 2-chord to the 5-chord second inversion to be difficult, but then again my overall technique is lousy.

Note to self: sit up straight and play the keys as if the palms of my hands were holding a ball.

This entry was probably boring to read, so I'll make it up to you with a cool website I found this morning. It's called Note Kitchen. Type in a chord and it'll show you the keys on the keyboard.

Meditation Time bookstanding today: 20 minutes Quality of meditation (out of 10): 5

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 27 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 7