Falling in Love

Canadian novelist, songwriter and poet Leonard Cohen was asked if it was possible to fall in love with more than one person at a time. He replied "yes, but not madly."

As I mentioned earlier, I'm in the early process of teaching myself two unrelated skills. Most of my limited free time is devoted to learning music theory and piano. That's where the momentum is, and my passion. My spare minutes are spent on the vocational course. I guess I'm madly in love with music theory, but my heart races a bit when I think of the better pay and new freedoms passing that vocational course will afford.

Yesterday I printed out the sheet music for the hymn Be Thou Humble by Grietje Terburg Rowley. I know the hymn well, so I thought I'd study its music notation*. Seems like I'm not ready for this. I'm glacially slow at identifying notes. So I've resorted to using flash cards using Rosa Suen's ATTACK & SAY IT OUT LOUD method.

I'm giving it a try and will get back to you tomorrow.

*There's another reason why I'll be using hymns liberally, but I'll save that for another post.