Herbie's Improvisation Soup

After work I was spent, but this new practice regiment made it easy for me to get into. There's no thought of what I should play. I just follow the plan.

I'm seriously reconsidering the improvisation component of it though. It may be too early. I should be collecting ingredients for this improvisation soup, like jazz licks and cycled patterns.

I'm listening to Herbie Hancock: Possibilities on audiobook, and there are some great stories of Miles Davis here. Herbie narrates the book too.

In closing, check out Herbie's improvisation soup in "Gingerbread Boy", by The Miles Davis Quintet (it starts at 2:25). Hopefully as I go along I'll be able to identify the ingredients that make this soup so hot and tasty.

Meditation Time doing zazen today: 23 minutes Quality of meditation (out of 10): 6

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 23 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 5