Learning Journals: Do They Work?

Today I unsuccessfully tried to decipher the D6-5sus2 chord using various apps (the article didn't help me crack this nut). I don't even know if D6-5sus2 is one or two chords. Maybe it's a chord progression?

I'm hoping that by airing out my stupid questions in public, the benefits will be twofold: 1) it will leave breadcrumbs for other beginners and 2) facilitate my learning process through self reflection.

For number one, I may never know if people will benefit from these sleep-deprived ramblings but for number two, it turns out journaling can be an effective learning tool. From the book Journal Keeping: How to Use Reflective Writing for Learning, Teaching, Professional Insight and Positive Change, this passage:

Journal writing can benefit individuals by enhancing reflection, facilitating critical thinking, expressing feelings, and writing focused arguments. It also allows one to reflect on new knowledge learned and solidify learning experiences by recording ones evolving thought process as one progress further in ones learning, learn new material, and form new conclusions (Stevens & Cooper, 2009, p. 3).

I also found a list of possible questions to answer in a reflective journal (see the bottom of the page). I may use some of them or make my own.