Limited Resources

I've been tuning people out lately. Turning down meals with friends. Unsociable at church. Sometimes even downright cold. I told a coworker who plays piano and is trained in music theory that I can't wait to get home and practice my scales. She said that's "kind of weird".

Today at the church picnic, a picnic I didn't want to attend, a friend of mine started juggling bowling pins. When did he learn that? We used to have dinner and converse for hours, but not lately. He didn't talk to me. I didn't go over and talk to him.

I haven't been on a date in months.

All these things require time, energy and money I don't have. After my work, church and family obligations and life maintenance, learning piano and music theory takes up what little resources I have left.

I'm not sure how to juggle it all.

On a more positive note...

I'm on Phase 2 of the C Major scale. This phase focuses on speed. Zach Evan's book says the phase is complete when I can ascend and descend the scale with both hands at 90 bpm. This has to be done perfectly, 3-4 times in a row.

My current "max tempo" is 70 bpm with both hands, ascending only.

I'm a bit of a to-do freak. I love that dopamine hit when I check tasks off as complete. It motivates me to work hard on these scales.

Maybe incremental subtasks I can check off are the key to maintaining a social life too?

Time meditated today: 40 minutes Quality of meditation (out of 10): 4