Making Like Columbus

This morning I read an excerpt from the journals of Christopher Columbus, and how he felt guided by God to find the Americas[*].

From my first youth onward, I was a seaman and have so continued until this day. The Lord was well disposed to my desire and He bestowed upon me courage and understanding; knowledge of seafaring. He gave me in abundance, and of geometry and astronomy likewise. Further, He gave me joy and cunning in drawing maps and thereon cities, mountains, rivers, islands, and harbors, each one in its place. I have seen and truly I have studied all books and cosmographies, histories and chronologies for which our Lord with provident hand unlocked my mind, sent me upon the seas and gave me fire for the deed. Those who heard of my enterprise called it foolish, mocked me and laughed, but who can doubt but that the Holy Ghost inspired me.

I feel similarly guided at times, especially in the past few days (you can read the entries here and here) although my voyage to musical literacy has just begun.

Also, I subscribed to Chordify but didn't get far with the app. It couldn't make sense of the three songs I gave it to translate into chords: September by David Sylvian, So What by Miles Davis and Across The Universe by BeatleJazz. I love the idea but the algorithm needs refining. I won't be renewing next month.

[*] Of course, historians have recently charged him with colonization and genocide of natives, so he may have fallen from grace since his great discovery.