The Stolen Trumpet

A few days ago a scruffy old man bought a trumpet at the thrift store where I work. I asked him if he played and he said he didn't. He wanted to learn though. Yesterday I saw him again, wearing the same scruffy clothes. I asked about his trumpet and if he started practicing yet. He replied it was stolen. He is homeless and it was taken from him while he slept.

Today was my day off, and while I tidied around the apartment and practiced piano I thought of him. He doesn't have the stability that I enjoy. Like so many other homeless people, he has dreams and aspirations. By purchasing the trumpet with what little money he had, he tried to jump up Maslow's hierarchy of needs from basic survival to self-actualization. Unfortunately the harsh reality of the streets will keep him down at the bottom.

On a lighter side, I did something approximate to a jazz improvisation. It was definitely fun, noodling about with my right hand. Flow-inducing too. I probably did this for a half hour before pain in my left elbow forced me to stop.

Meditation Time bookstanding today: 40 minutes Quality of meditation (out of 10): 5

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 55 minutes ...Exceeded time needed to practice Quality of practice (out of 10): 7