The Surrender and the Power

As part of my daily devotional to God, I sing a hymn before jetting off to work. Today the hymn was All Creatures of Our God and King:

Halfway through I became emotional and could not finish without difficulty. It's not unusual for me. As I sing words of praise my heart softens and swells with love and gratitude. There is a sense of surrender.

Then I marched off to work and listened to Intervals' Siren Sound on repeat and some Animals as Leaders. The sensations I experienced were markedly different. It was like my nervous system was being jacked up with electricity. Adrenaline surged through my body and my brain got a big dollop of dopamine. I felt an undeniable rush of power.

Here are two powerful but completely different responses to music. I wonder how it's possible to combine the two genres into one (Dhymn) and still maintain the authenticity and potency of each. Time, and lots of experimentation, will tell.

Meditation Time bookstanding today: 20 Quality of meditation (out of 10): 5

Practice Minutes on the keyboard today (out of 40): 18 minutes Quality of practice (out of 10): 5 ... Lot's of left-hand comping made my arm ache.