The Zen of Decompression

First, a few thoughts on my post yesterday:

Secret Ceremonies are easiest to implement in the morning, when you begin the day fresh.

If that's not feasible, you'll probably need to decompress / de-stress first before starting a Secret Ceremony. Decompression from work is not part of the Secret Ceremony. It must be done before the Secret Ceremony starts.

Today I tried to start my Secret Ceremony during my decompression and it didn't feel right. My mind wasn't clear when it was time to practice. I still felt agitated.

As to why, I think this Zen proverb explains it:

A university professor went to visit a famous Zen master. While the master quietly served tea, the professor talked about Zen. The master poured the visitor's cup to the brim, and then kept pouring. The professor watched the overflowing cup until he could no longer restrain himself. "It's full! No more will go in!" the professor blurted. "This is you," the master replied, "How can I show you Zen unless you first empty your cup."

From Zen Stories to Tell Your Neighbors.

In this proverb, the cup is a metaphor for one's mind. The lesson is that one must empty their mind of ideas, preconceptions and so on before it can receive new information. Decompression is a kind of emptying, or untethering from the events of the day. A proper decompression should refresh and quiet the mind.

Today I struggled with the musical notation for the So What intro. There's so much to learn from these opening chords. Looking forward to filling my mind with new knowledge!