Man Singing Hymn. Painting by Arvid Liljelund (1884)

All this talk of dark and light has me second-guessing the name of the new subgenre I'm creating called dhymn. Dhymn is the meshing of the words "djent" and "hymn" and it's pronounced dim.

Dim, as a verb, is defined by Google as to "make or become less bright or distinct". That's not what I'm trying to accomplish. I want to expose more people to Christian hymns.I want more people to join in praising and worshiping Christ, who is the source of all light.

I am the light of the world, Jesus said in John 8:12, Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.

Besides, dim isn't darkness. It's the presence of light in darkness. According to Google (again), it's "a light, color, or illuminated object not shining brightly or clearly". Dim could imply encroaching darkness or it could be the light of a new day, as in the "dim Nantucket dawn", to borrow a phrase from Moby Dick.

I'm probably overthinking this. Dhymn is an experimental form of music, and experimental form of worshipful art. There are traditionalists who reject the "contemporization" of sacred hymn, and I sympathize with their reasoning to a point, but we are also to "make a joyful noise unto the Lord... to make a loud noise, and rejoice, and sing praise" (Psalm 98:4). The Dhymn is my contribution to this cause.